Prototypical development of an app for Business Intelligence (BI)

Dissertation or working student activity computer science / business informatics

Sales metrics in the car trade – identification of KPIs and prototypical development of a BI app with benchmark and comparison of figures

We develop and operate a data warehouse for the authorized dealers of a large automotive group. The dealers send all invoices of the previous day to the warehouse via interface on a daily basis, i.e. new and used car, parts and service invoices. The system now includes several years’ worth of electronic invoices from the dealers.

The system is controlled via a dashboard. This shows dealers key statistical data, for example. In the dashboard, a merchant can define how his data is processed and to whom and in what form his data is forwarded.

Based on the raw data from the data warehouse, it is first necessary to determine which key sales figures or KPIs can be determined for the individual retailer, especially sales and volumes. Secondly, the possible dimensions are to be defined, i.e. the differentiation of the data according to sales, aftersales, manufacturer and models as well as the temporal course.

The focus of the work is the prototypical realization of an app as a BI dashboard, which displays the current key figures to the dealer on a monthly basis. The data is provided in condensed form for this purpose. The app loads the data, displays the current KPIs, makes deviations eye-catching and enables a drill-down according to the selected dimensions.

Fourth, to the extent that there is still time, it should be investigated to what extent the dashboard can be enriched with market data to enable a benchmark and comparison of the retailer’s sales KPIs with the market development at the respective point in time.

The technical environment for the development of the app is Microsoft ASP.NET Core, C#, Xamarin, mySQL. Relevant previous experience is desired.

The software house FCS Fair Computer Systems GmbH from Nuremberg, on the market since 1999, develops European web portals and data warehouses for the automotive industry in the business unit “fcs drive”. Likewise, the development of mobile solutions for the car trade is a focus of FCS. Major international car manufacturers are among its customers. FCS has been awarded as TOP 100 Innovator 2021.

The formulation of the topic for an application as a master or bachelor thesis is to be discussed.

Please contact us by phone or email for inquiries:

Dr. Jürgen Falk
FCS Fair Computer Systems GmbH
Ostendstraße 132
DE 90482 Nuremberg

Phone +49 (0) 911 810881 0
j.falk@fair-computer.de

Start typing and press Enter to search

Prototypische Entwicklung einer App für Business Intelligence (BI)

Abschlussarbeit oder Werkstudierenden-Tätigkeit Informatik / Wirtschaftsinformatik


Vertriebskennzahlen im Autohandel – Identifikation von KPIs und prototypische Entwicklung einer BI App mit Benchmark und Vergleich der Zahlen

Wir entwickeln und betreiben ein Data Warehouse für die Vertragshändler eines großen Automobilkonzerns. Die Händler schicken über Schnittstelle täglich alle Rechnungen des Vortags an das Warehouse, demnach Neu- und Gebrauchtwagen-, Teile- und Servicerechnungen. Das System umfasst mittlerweile den elektronischen Rechnungsbestand der Händler von mehreren Jahren.

Das System wird über ein Dashboard gesteuert. Darin werden den Händlern z.B. wesentliche Statistik-Daten angezeigt. Im Dashboard kann ein Händler festlegen, wie seine Daten verarbeitet und an wen und in welcher Form seine Daten weitergeleitet werden.

Auf Basis der Rohdaten des Data Warehouse ist erstens zu eruieren, welche wesentlichen Vertriebskennzahlen bzw. KPIs sich für den einzelnen Händler ermitteln lassen, vor allem Umsätze und Mengen. Zweitens sind die möglichen Dimensionen festzulegen, demnach die Unterscheidung der Daten nach Sales, Aftersales, Hersteller und Modellen sowie der zeitliche Verlauf.

Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten ist die prototypische Realisierung einer App als BI-Dashboard, die dem Händler auf Monatsbasis die aktuellen Kennzahlen anzeigt. Die Daten werden dafür in verdichteter Form bereitgestellt. Die App lädt die Daten, zeigt die aktuellen KPIs an, macht Abweichungen augenfällig und ermöglicht einen Drill-Down nach den gewählten Dimensionen.

Soweit noch Zeit bleibt, ist viertens zu untersuchen, inwieweit das Dashboard mit Marktdaten angereichert werden kann, um einen Benchmark und Vergleich der Vertriebskenn­zahlen des Händlers mit der Marktentwicklung zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt zu ermöglichen.

Die technische Umgebung für die Entwicklung der App ist Microsoft ASP.NET Core, C#, Xamarin, mySQL. Entsprechende Vorerfahrungen sind erwünscht.

Das Softwarehaus FCS Fair Computer Systems GmbH aus Nürnberg, seit 1999 auf dem Markt, entwickelt im Geschäftsbereich „fcs drive“ europäische Webportale und Data Warehouses für die Automobilwirtschaft. Ebenso ist die Entwicklung mobiler Lösungen für den Autohandel ein Schwerpunkt von FCS. Große internationale Automobilhersteller gehören zum Kundenkreis. FCS ist als TOP 100 Innovator 2021 ausgezeichnet worden.

Die Formulierung des Themas für eine Anmeldung als Master- oder Bachelorarbeit ist abzusprechen.

Anfragen bitte telefonisch oder per Email an: 

Dr. Jürgen Falk
FCS Fair Computer Systems GmbH
Ostendstraße 132
DE 90482 Nürnberg

Tel +49 (0) 911 810881 0
j.falk@fair-computer.de

Start typing and press Enter to search